Each player discards their hand, then draws cards equal to the greatest number of cards a player discarded this way.
Cipher (Then you may exile this spell card encoded on a creature you control. Whenever that creature deals combat damage to a player, its controller may cast a copy of the encoded card without paying its mana cost.)

ILLUSTRATED BY

Clint Cearley INTERVIEW

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

legal

RULINGS

2013-04-15

You choose the creature as the spell resolves. The cipher ability doesn’t target that creature, although the spell with cipher may target that creature (or a different creature) because of its other abilities.

2013-04-15

You cast the copy of the card with cipher during the resolution of the triggered ability. Ignore timing restrictions based on the card’s type.

2013-04-15

The spell with cipher is encoded on the creature as part of that spell’s resolution, just after the spell’s other effects. That card goes directly from the stack to exile. It never goes to the graveyard.

2013-04-15

The exiled card with cipher grants a triggered ability to the creature it’s encoded on. If that creature loses that ability and subsequently deals combat damage to a player, the triggered ability won’t trigger. However, the exiled card will continue to be encoded on that creature.

2013-04-15

The copy of the card with cipher is created in and cast from exile.

2013-04-15

If you want to encode the card with cipher onto a noncreature permanent such as a Keyrune that can turn into a creature, that permanent has to be a creature before the spell with cipher starts resolving. You can choose only a creature to encode the card onto.

2013-04-15

If you choose not to cast the copy, or you can’t cast it (perhaps because there are no legal targets available), the copy will cease to exist the next time state-based actions are performed. You won’t get a chance to cast the copy at a later time.

2013-04-15

If the spell with cipher doesn’t resolve, none of its effects will happen, including cipher. The card will go to its owner’s graveyard and won’t be encoded on a creature.

2013-04-15

If the creature leaves the battlefield, the exiled card will no longer be encoded on any creature. It will stay exiled.

2013-04-15

If another player gains control of the creature, that player will control the triggered ability. That player will create a copy of the encoded card and may cast it.

2013-04-15

If a creature with an encoded card deals combat damage to more than one player simultaneously (perhaps because some of the combat damage was redirected), the triggered ability will trigger once for each player it deals combat damage to. Each ability will create a copy of the exiled card and allow you to cast it.

2013-01-24

You’ll draw cards before deciding which creature (if any) Whispering Madness will be encoded on.

2013-01-24

Each player draws cards simultaneously. If this causes a player to draw more cards than are left in their library, that player will lose the game. If this causes all players to do so, the game is a draw. (In multiplayer games, multiple players drawing from an empty library will cause those players to lose although the game may continue.)

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE