As an additional cost to cast this spell, tap an untapped Vampire you control.
Gain control of target creature. Change the text of that creature by replacing all instances of one creature type with Vampire.
You must choose an existing creature type, such as Vampire or Cat. Card types such as â€œartifactâ€ canâ€™t be chosen.
You choose what word youâ€™re changing as New Blood resolves. You donâ€™t have to choose a word that appears in the creatureâ€™s text.
You canâ€™t choose multiple creature types, such as â€œCat Warrior.â€ A Cat Warrior is both a Cat and a Warrior. Itâ€™s affected by anything that affects either type and unaffected by things that affect non-Cat or non-Warrior creatures.
To pay the additional cost of New Blood, you may tap any untapped Vampire you control, including one you havenâ€™t controlled continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn. (Note that tapping the creature doesnâ€™t use [the tap symbol].)
The type-changing effect can change part of a word (such as â€œnon-Humanâ€) if the part of the word is being used to refer to a creature type.
The creature you gain control of wonâ€™t be a Vampire if you donâ€™t choose a creature type in that creatureâ€™s type line as one to replace.
New Bloodâ€™s effect changes only the text printed on the creature. It canâ€™t change words found in abilities itâ€™s been granted. For example, if you change Rat to Vampire on Hungry Lynx, your Cats will have protection from Vampires; but if instead you change Rat to Vampire on Phantom Nishoba while you control a Hungry Lynx, Phantom Nishoba will have protection from Rats.
New Blood changes the creature type each time it appears in the creatureâ€™s type line and/or rules text. It doesnâ€™t change the name of the card or any instances of the word being used as part of a cardâ€™s name.