Creature — Giant Soldier


When Protector of the Crown enters the battlefield, you become the monarch.
All damage that would be dealt to you is dealt to Protector of the Crown instead.

2/5

ILLUSTRATED BY

Johannes Voss

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

not legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

not legal

RULINGS

2016-08-23

The game starts with no monarch. Once an effect makes one player the monarch, the game will have exactly one monarch from that point forward.

2016-08-23

Protector of the Crown’s last ability doesn’t depend on you being the monarch. It will create a redirection effect even if an opponent is the monarch.

2016-08-23

If you control more than one Protector of the Crown, you choose which redirection effect to apply. You can’t divide damage dealt by one source. For example, if an attacking creature would deal 6 damage to you and you control two Protectors of the Crown, you may have that damage dealt to either of the Protectors. You can’t have 3 damage dealt to each one.

2016-08-23

If the triggered ability that causes the monarch to draw a card goes on the stack, and a different player becomes the monarch before that ability resolves, the first player will still draw the card.

2016-08-23

Applying this redirection effect doesn’t change whether the damage is combat damage.

2016-08-23

Abilities that trigger whenever you “become the monarch” trigger only if you aren’t already the monarch. For example, if you are already the monarch as Custodi Lich enters the battlefield, its last ability won’t trigger.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE