Creature — Human Soldier


At the beginning of your end step, if you're the monarch, put a +1/+1 counter on Throne Warden.

2/2

ILLUSTRATED BY

Chris Rallis INTERVIEW

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

not legal

Pauper

legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

not legal

RULINGS

2016-08-23

The last ability of Throne Warden checks to see if you’re the monarch as your end step begins. If you’re not, the ability won’t trigger at all. You won’t be able to do anything that would make you the monarch during your end step in time to have that ability trigger. The ability will also check to see if you’re the monarch as it tries to resolve. If you’re not the monarch at that time, the ability will have no effect.

2016-08-23

The game starts with no monarch. Once an effect makes one player the monarch, the game will have exactly one monarch from that point forward.

2016-08-23

If the triggered ability that causes the monarch to draw a card goes on the stack, and a different player becomes the monarch before that ability resolves, the first player will still draw the card.

2016-08-23

Abilities that trigger whenever you “become the monarch” trigger only if you aren’t already the monarch. For example, if you are already the monarch as Custodi Lich enters the battlefield, its last ability won’t trigger.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE