Return target nonland permanent to its owner's hand. Then that player discards a card if you control a Zombie.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Seb McKinnon INTERVIEW

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

legal

RULINGS

2016-04-08

The card returned to its owner’s hand may be the card they discard. If it’s the only card in that player’s hand, it must be discarded.

2016-04-08

If you target the only Zombie you control with Compelling Deterrence, you won’t discard a card.

2016-04-08

Compelling Deterrence targets only the nonland permanent. If that permanent becomes an illegal target, Compelling Deterrence doesn’t resolve and that player doesn’t discard a card.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE