Artifact


Imprint — When Isochron Scepter enters the battlefield, you may exile an instant card with converted mana cost 2 or less from your hand.
, : You may copy the exiled card. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Chippy

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

not legal

RULINGS

2020-08-07

You cast the copy while the ability is resolving and still on the stack. You can’t wait to cast it later in the turn.

2020-08-07

If you don’t want to cast the copy, you can choose not to; the copy ceases to exist the next time state-based actions are checked.

2020-08-07

If you cast a spell “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t choose to cast it for any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, those must be paid to cast the spell.

2020-08-07

If Isochron Scepter leaves the battlefield while the activated ability is on the stack, the ability can still make a copy. On the other hand, if the imprinted card leaves the exile zone while the activated ability is on the stack, the copy can’t be made.

2020-08-07

If a spell has in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.

2017-04-18

The converted mana cost of a split card is determined by the combined mana cost of its two halves. When you activate the second ability, you may choose to cast either half of the split card, but you may not cast both halves.

2016-06-08

You cast the copy while the ability is resolving and still on the stack.

2016-06-08

If you don’t want to cast the copy, you can choose not to; the copy ceases to exist the next time state-based actions are checked.

2016-06-08

If the imprinted card leaves the exile zone while the activated ability is on the stack, the copy can’t be made.

2016-06-08

If the exiled card has X in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value for X when casting it.

2016-06-08

If Isochron Scepter leaves the battlefield while the activated ability is on the stack, the ability can still make a copy.

2016-06-08

Because you’re already casting the spell using an alternative cost (by casting it without paying its mana cost), you can’t pay any other alternative costs for the card. You can pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE