Escalate (Pay this cost for each mode chosen beyond the first.)
Choose one or more —
• Target player discards all the cards in their hand, then draws that many cards.
• Collective Defiance deals 4 damage to target creature.
• Collective Defiance deals 3 damage to target opponent or planeswalker.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Kieran Yanner

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

legal

RULINGS

2016-07-13

You choose all of your modes at once. You can’t wait to perform one mode’s actions and then decide to choose more modes.

2016-07-13

You can’t choose any one mode multiple times.

2016-07-13

If two of the chosen modes of an escalate spell target a creature, you may choose the same creature for each mode’s target, or choose different creatures. The same is true if the chosen modes target a player (or opponent).

2016-07-13

If one target of an escalate spell becomes illegal, the other targets will still be affected. If all of the targets become illegal, the spell won’t resolve.

2016-07-13

If an effect allows you to cast a spell that has escalate without paying its mana cost, you pay escalate costs for that spell if you choose more than one mode.

2016-07-13

Effects that reduce the cost of spells reduce the total cost, including any escalate costs added.

2016-07-13

Additional costs don’t affect a spell’s converted mana cost.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE