Instant


Escalate (Pay this cost for each mode chosen beyond the first.)
Choose one or more —
• Creatures target player controls gain trample until end of turn.
• Savage Alliance deals 2 damage to target creature.
• Savage Alliance deals 1 damage to each creature target opponent controls.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Johann Bodin INTERVIEW

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

legal

RULINGS

2016-07-13

You choose all of your modes at once. You can’t wait to perform one mode’s actions and then decide to choose more modes.

2016-07-13

You can’t choose any one mode multiple times.

2016-07-13

When determining how much damage a creature with trample may assign to the player or planeswalker it’s attacking, take into account damage that has already been dealt to the blocking creatures. For example, a 4/4 creature with trample blocked by a 4/4 creature with 2 damage marked on it may assign 2 damage to that creature and 2 damage to the defending player.

2016-07-13

If you choose the second and third modes, and the targeted creature is controlled by the targeted opponent, that creature will take 2 plus 1 damage for a total of 3 damage. An ability that triggers whenever that creature is dealt damage will trigger twice.

2016-07-13

If two of the chosen modes of an escalate spell target a creature, you may choose the same creature for each mode’s target, or choose different creatures. The same is true if the chosen modes target a player (or opponent).

2016-07-13

If one target of an escalate spell becomes illegal, the other targets will still be affected. If all of the targets become illegal, the spell won’t resolve.

2016-07-13

If an effect allows you to cast a spell that has escalate without paying its mana cost, you pay escalate costs for that spell if you choose more than one mode.

2016-07-13

Effects that reduce the cost of spells reduce the total cost, including any escalate costs added.

2016-07-13

Additional costs don’t affect a spell’s converted mana cost.

BUY THIS CARD

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE