Legendary Planeswalker — Bolas


+3: Each opponent loses 3 life unless that player sacrifices a nonland permanent or discards a card.
−3: Destroy target creature. Draw a card.
−11: Nicol Bolas, the Deceiver deals 7 damage to each opponent. You draw seven cards.

5

ILLUSTRATED BY

Svetlin Velinov

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

legal

RULINGS

2017-07-14

While resolving Nicol Bolas’s first ability, your opponent chooses a card to be discarded without revealing it, chooses a nonland permanent to be sacrificed, or chooses to do neither. Then that player discards that card, sacrifices that permanent, or loses 3 life. Your opponent can always choose to lose 3 life, even if they have cards to discard or nonland permanents to sacrifice.

2017-07-14

In a multiplayer game, each opponent in turn order makes their choice for Nicol Bolas’s first ability, then all of the actions occur simultaneously. Opponents will know choices made by earlier opponents when making their choices, although a card chosen to be discarded this way isn’t revealed until it’s discarded.

2017-07-14

If the target of Nicol Bolas’s second ability becomes illegal, the ability doesn’t resolve and you won’t draw a card. If that target is legal but can’t be destroyed, most likely because it has indestructible, you still draw a card.

2017-07-14

If Nicol Bolas’s third ability causes each opponent to have 0 or less life, but it also causes you to try to draw more cards than you have in your library, the game ends in a draw.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE