Put three -1/-1 counters on target creature. Its controller loses 3 life unless they sacrifice another nonland permanent or discards a card.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Johann Bodin INTERVIEW

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

legal

RULINGS

2017-07-14

While resolving Torment of Venom, the creature’s controller chooses a card to be discarded without revealing it, chooses a nonland permanent to be sacrificed, or chooses to do neither. Then that player discards that card, sacrifices that permanent, or loses 3 life. That player can always choose to lose 3 life, even if they have cards to discard or nonland permanents to sacrifice.

2017-07-14

If the target creature is an illegal target by the time Torment of Venom resolves, the entire spell doesn’t resolve. The creature’s controller won’t be tormented.

2017-07-14

Because state-based actions aren’t performed while Torment of Venom is resolving, the target creature is still on the battlefield while its controller is tormented. If that creature has an Aura attached to it, that Aura can be sacrificed.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE