Sorcery


This spell costs more to cast for each target beyond the first.
Fireball deals X damage divided evenly, rounded down, among any number of targets.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Dave Dorman

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

not legal

RULINGS

2017-11-17

You may cast Fireball with zero targets, regardless of the value chosen for X. If you do so, it will not be a targeted spell, and no damage will actually be dealt when it resolves.

2017-11-17

You can target more than X creatures. However, if the number of legal targets at the time Fireball resolves is greater than X, none of them will be dealt any damage.

2017-11-17

For example, if X is 5 and you choose three target creatures, Fireball has a total cost of (even though its mana cost is just and its converted mana cost is 6). If those creatures are all still legal targets as Fireball resolves, it deals 1 damage to each of them.

2017-11-17

Fireball’s damage is divided as Fireball resolves, not as it’s cast, because there are no choices involved. The division involves only targets that are still legal as Fireball resolves.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE