Artifact


Activated abilities of artifacts and creatures can't be activated unless they're mana abilities.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Mike Dringenberg

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

not legal

RULINGS

2017-03-14

Damping Matrix’s ability affects only artifacts and creatures on the battlefield. Activated abilities that work in other zones (such as bloodrush or unearth) can still be activated. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected.

2017-03-14

Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities, such as equip, are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text.

2017-03-14

A mana ability is an ability that produces mana, not an ability that costs mana.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE