Instant


Counter target activated or triggered ability. (Mana abilities can't be targeted.)

ILLUSTRATED BY

Cliff Childs INTERVIEW

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

not legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

not legal

RULINGS

2004-10-04

Turn-based actions and special actions like the normal card draw, combat damage, or turning a face-down creature face up can’t be targeted.

2004-10-04

It can target delayed triggered abilities. For example, a card that says “Whenever a player cycles a card, you may exile target creature. If you do, return that creature to the battlefield at the beginning of the end step.” triggers when a player cycles a card and creates a delayed trigger that happens at the beginning of the end step. You can choose to target the “at the beginning of the end step” trigger when it is placed on the stack at end of turn.

2004-10-04

An activated ability has a “Cost: Effect” format. Look for the colon. A triggered ability starts with “when”, “whenever”, or “at”.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE