Sorcery


Destroy target nonland permanent and all other permanents with the same name as that permanent.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Igor Kieryluk

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

not legal

RULINGS

2020-08-07

The name of a token is the same as the subtypes it was created with unless the token is a copy of another permanent or the effect that created the token specifically gives it a different name. For example, a 1/1 red Elemental creature token created by Young Pyromancer and a 4/4 green Elemental creature token created by Walker of the Grove are both named “Elemental.”

2020-08-07

Maelstrom Pulse has only one target. Other permanents with the same name will be destroyed even if they have hexproof or protection.

2020-08-07

If the target permanent is an illegal target by the time Maelstrom Pulse tries to resolve, the spell won’t resolve. You won’t destroy any permanents at all. If the target is legal but not destroyed (most likely because it has indestructible), you do destroy other permanents with the same name.

2018-12-07

The name of a creature token is the same as the creature types it was created with unless the token is a copy of another creature or the effect that created the token specifically gives it a different name. For example, a 1/1 red Elemental creature token created by Young Pyromancer and a 4/4 green Elemental creature token created by Walker of the Grove are both named “Elemental.”

2018-12-07

Maelstrom Pulse has only one target. Other permanents with the same name will be destroyed even if they have hexproof or protection.

2018-12-07

If the target permanent becomes an illegal target for Maelstrom Pulse, the spell doesn’t resolve. Nothing is destroyed.

2018-12-07

If Maelstrom Pulse resolves but the target permanent isn’t destroyed (perhaps because it regenerates or has indestructible), all other permanents with the same name as it will still be destroyed.

2009-05-01

A face-down creature has no name, so it doesn’t have the same name as anything else.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE