Artifact


As Pithing Needle enters the battlefield, choose a card name.
Activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can't be activated unless they're mana abilities.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Joseph Meehan INTERVIEW

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

legal

RULINGS

2012-10-01

Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” Triggered abilities and static abilities of the named card work normally.

2009-10-01

Once Pithing Needle has left the battlefield, activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can be activated again.

2005-06-01

You can name any card, even if that card doesn’t normally have an activated ability. You can’t name a token unless that token has the same name as a card.

2005-06-01

Pithing Needle affects cards regardless of what zone they’re in. This includes cards in hand, cards in the graveyard, and exiled cards. For example, a player can’t cycle Eternal Dragon or return an Eternal Dragon from their graveyard to hand if Pithing Needle naming Eternal Dragon is on the battlefield.

2005-06-01

If you name a card that has both a mana ability and another activated ability, the mana ability can be activated but the other ability can’t be activated.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE