Artifact


As long as Trinisphere is untapped, each spell that would cost less than three mana to cast costs three mana to cast. (Additional mana in the cost may be paid with any color of mana or colorless mana. For example, a spell that would cost to cast costs to cast instead.)

ILLUSTRATED BY

Daniel Ljunggren

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

restricted

Commander

legal

Pioneer

not legal

RULINGS

2020-08-07

To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you’re paying, add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. Finally, apply Trinisphere’s effect if the mana component of the spell’s cost is less than three mana. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.

2020-08-07

If Trinisphere leaves the battlefield or becomes tapped or untapped as a cost to cast a spell, this cost is paid after you’ve locked in the total cost.

2004-12-01

You still need to pay any additional nonmana costs the spell has, such as sacrificing a creature or discarding cards.

2004-12-01

Trinisphere’s ability affects the total cost of the spell. It is applied *after* any other cost increasers or cost reducers are applied: First apply any cost increases. Next apply any cost reducers. Finally look at the amount of mana you have to pay. If it’s less than three mana, you’ll pay three mana.

2004-12-01

If a spell costs at least three mana due to additional costs, such as kicker costs, that’s fine.

2004-12-01

Even with a cost reducer on the battlefield, spells can’t cost less than three mana to cast.

2004-12-01

Casting a creature with morph face down already costs three mana, even though the converted mana cost of the face-down spell is zero, so Trinisphere normally doesn’t modify the total cost of a face-down creature spell. However, if Dream Chisel is reducing that cost while Trinisphere is on the battlefield, you’ll still have to pay three mana for the spell.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE