Enchantment â Aura Curse
Creatures enchanted player controls lose all abilities and have base power and toughness 1/1.
Enchanted player can't activate abilities that aren't mana abilities or loyalty abilities.
Richard Wright INTERVIEW
If a creature enters the battlefield under enchanted playerâ€™s control, any â€œwhen [this creature] enters the battlefieldâ€ abilities of that creature wonâ€™t trigger. Any â€œas [this creature] enters the battlefieldâ€ or â€œ[this creature] enters the battlefield withâ€ abilities wonâ€™t be applied. This is a change from previous rulings.
While the enchanted player can still activate mana abilities and loyalty abilities, creatures that player controls wonâ€™t normally have any of those abilities to be activated.
Overwhelming Splendor overwrites all previous effects that set a creatureâ€™s base power and toughness to specific values. Any power- or toughness-setting effects that start to apply to a creature after Overwhelming Splendor becomes attached to its controller will overwrite this effect. For example, the enchanted playerâ€™s Riddleform will become a 3/3 creature if player casts a noncreature spell.
If Overwhelming Splendor leaves the battlefield at the same time as a creature enchanted player controls, any â€œwhen [this creature] [dies or leaves the battlefield]â€ abilities of that creature wonâ€™t trigger.
If an effect grants a creature an ability after Overwhelming Splendor has become attached to its controller, that creature wonâ€™t lose that ability.
If a noncreature permanent becomes a creature, it will lose all abilities it has. However, if the effect that makes that permanent a creature grants it an ability, it will continue to have that ability. For example, the enchanted playerâ€™s Riddleform will have flying once it becomes a creature.
Effects that modify a creatureâ€™s power and/or toughness, such as the effect of Titanic Growth, will apply to the creatures no matter when they started to take effect. The same is true for any counters that change their power and/or toughness.
An activated mana ability is one that produces mana as it resolves, not one that costs mana to activate. A loyalty ability is an ability of a planeswalker whose cost specifies how many loyalty counters to give or remove.
Activated abilities contain a colon. Theyâ€™re generally written â€œ[Cost]: [Effect].â€ Some keyword abilities (such as equip and eternalize) are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. Triggered abilities (starting with â€œwhen,â€ â€œwhenever,â€ or â€œatâ€) of noncreature permanents are unaffected by the last ability of Overwhelming Splendor.
BUY THIS CARD