Creature — Vedalken Artificer


Artifact spells you cast have convoke. (Your creatures can help cast those spells. Each creature you tap while casting an artifact spell pays for or one mana of that creature's color.)

1/3

ILLUSTRATED BY

Ryan Barger

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

legal

RULINGS

2018-10-05

You can tap an untapped creature you haven’t controlled continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn to convoke a spell.

2018-10-05

When using convoke to cast a spell with in its mana cost, first choose the value for X. That choice, plus any cost increases or decreases, will determine the spell’s total cost. Then you can tap creatures you control to help pay that cost. For example, if you cast Worldsoul Colossus (a spell with convoke and mana cost ) and choose X to be 3, the total cost is . If you tap two green creatures and two white creatures, you’ll have to pay .

2018-10-05

When calculating a spell’s total cost, include any alternative costs, additional costs, or anything else that increases or reduces the cost to cast the spell. Convoke applies after the total cost is calculated.

2018-10-05

Tapping a multicolored creature using convoke will pay for or one mana of your choice of any of that creature’s colors.

2018-10-05

If a creature you control has a mana ability with in the cost, activating that ability while casting a spell with convoke will result in the creature being tapped before you pay the spell’s costs. You won’t be able to tap it again for convoke. Similarly, if you sacrifice a creature to activate a mana ability while casting a spell with convoke, that creature won’t be on the battlefield when you pay the spell’s costs, so you won’t be able to tap it for convoke.

2018-10-05

Convoke doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost.

2018-10-05

Because convoke isn’t an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.

2014-07-18

Multiple instances of convoke on a single spell are redundant.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE