Exile target nonland permanent. For as long as that card remains exiled, its owner may cast it without paying its mana cost.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Joseph Meehan INTERVIEW

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

legal

RULINGS

2018-01-19

If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t pay any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, such as that of Silvergill Adept, those must be paid to cast the card.

2018-01-19

If an exiled card has in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.

2018-01-19

If a token is exiled this way, it can’t be cast.

2018-01-19

Casting the exiled card follows the normal timing rules for casting that card. For example, if the card is a creature card, you can cast that card only during your main phase while the stack is empty.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE