Creature â Human Pirate
When Hostage Taker enters the battlefield, exile another target creature or artifact until Hostage Taker leaves the battlefield. You may cast that card for as long as it remains exiled, and you may spend mana as though it were mana of any type to cast that spell.2/3
Wayne Reynolds INTERVIEW
Once you begin to cast the exiled card, itâ€™s considered a new object. Youâ€™ll control that spell and the permanent that spell becomes even if Hostage Taker leaves the battlefield.
In a multiplayer game, if Hostage Takerâ€™s owner leaves the game while the card is still exiled and another player owns that card, the exiled card will return to the battlefield under its ownerâ€™s control. Because the one-shot effect that returns the card isnâ€™t an ability that goes on the stack, it wonâ€™t cease to exist along with the leaving playerâ€™s spells and abilities on the stack.
In a multiplayer game, if a player leaves the game, all cards that player owns leave as well. If you leave the game, any spell or permanent cards you control from Hostage Takerâ€™s ability are exiled.
If itâ€™s still in exile, the exiled card returns to the battlefield immediately after Hostage Taker leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions.
If Hostage Taker leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, the target permanent wonâ€™t be exiled.
If a token is exiled this way, it will cease to exist and wonâ€™t return to the battlefield. You canâ€™t cast it.
Hostage Taker has received errata to prevent it from targeting itself. The correct Oracle wording appears above.
Auras attached to the exiled permanent will be put into their ownersâ€™ graveyards. Any Equipment will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled permanent will cease to exist.