Artifact


, : Put a charge counter on Brain in a Jar, then you may cast an instant or sorcery spell with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Brain in a Jar from your hand without paying its mana cost.
, , Remove X charge counters from Brain in a Jar: Scry X.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Daniel Ljunggren

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

legal

RULINGS

2016-04-08

When resolving the first ability of Brain in a Jar, the newly-placed charge counter will be counted when determining what spells you may cast. No player may take any action between you placing the counter and choosing which spell to cast.

2016-04-08

If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t choose to cast it for any alternative costs, such as awaken costs. You can, however, pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, such as that of Lightning Axe, you must pay those to cast the card.

2016-04-08

If the card has in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X.

2016-04-08

If Brain in a Jar leaves the battlefield before its first ability resolves, use the number of counters on it at the moment it left to determine what spell you may cast. That number won’t change because you can’t put a new counter on Brain in a Jar.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE