Players can't cast spells from graveyards or activate abilities of cards in graveyards.
Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life.

ILLUSTRATED BY

Daarken INTERVIEW

VALUE

-

DAILY

-

WEEKLY

-

MONTHLY

-

Standard

not legal

Modern

legal

Pauper

not legal

Legacy

legal

Vintage

legal

Commander

legal

Pioneer

legal

RULINGS

2017-09-29

If a creature dies at the same time that Ashes of the Abhorrent is destroyed, you’ll gain 1 life.

2017-09-29

Ashes of the Abhorrent doesn’t stop players from playing land cards from the graveyard if an effect allows them to do so.

2017-09-29

Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities (such as embalm from the Amonkhet set) are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected by Ashes of the Abhorrent.

EXPORT CARD

COPY-PASTEABLE